Scuttlebutt Offshore Championship

– The lower shroud exploded with a loud ‘bang’ on Paul Cayard’s IC 24 on the return race from The Baths during Monday’s Scuttlebutt Offshore Championship held at the Bitter End YC in the BVI. Cayard quickly tacked the boat and handed the helm to BEYC guest John Stephenson. Without wasting a motion, Cayard kicked off his flip flops and climbed the rig with both a spinnaker halyard and topping lift in his teeth. After completing a very crude jury rig, he took back the helm and calmly won the race, and the two-race championship by 32 seconds over Bruce Kirby, with Dave Ullman a half minute further back in third place. The windward- leeward races of the Vineyard Vines Pro-Am Regatta at the BEYC starts on Tuesday, with guests of the resort crewing for the invited pro skippers – Cayard, Kirby, Ullman, Dawn Riley, Zach Railey, Ed Baird, Rod Johnstone and Keith Musto.